Seychelles, officially the Republic of Seychelles, is an archipelago country located in the Indian Ocean, off the eastern coast of Africa. It is located northeast of Madagascar and about 1,600 kilometers (994 miles) east of mainland Africa. The country comprises 115 islands, of which the largest are Mahé, Praslin, and La Digue.



Seychelles enjoys a tropical climate characterized by warm temperatures year-round. The islands experience two main seasons: a wet season from November to April and a dry season from May to October. Humidity is high throughout the year, and rainfall is heaviest between December and February.


Seychelles is renowned for its unique and diverse wildlife, both on land and in the surrounding waters. The islands are home to numerous endemic species, including the Seychelles giant tortoise, the Seychelles black parrot, and the Seychelles sheath-tailed bat. The surrounding waters are rich in marine life, with coral reefs teeming with colorful fish, sea turtles, and dolphins.

Longest Rivers

Seychelles is not known for large rivers due to its small size and topography. Instead, the islands are characterized by lush vegetation, pristine beaches, and cascading waterfalls.

Highest Mountains

The highest peak in Seychelles is Morne Seychellois on the island of Mahé, standing at an elevation of 905 meters (2,969 feet) above sea level. Other notable peaks include Fond Azore on Praslin and Nid d’Aigle on La Digue.



The Seychelles islands were uninhabited until around 200 AD when they were first settled by Austronesian seafarers from present-day Indonesia and Malaysia. These early settlers were skilled in navigation and agriculture, establishing small communities on the islands.

European Colonization

The first recorded sighting of the Seychelles by Europeans was in 1502 by Portuguese explorer Vasco da Gama. The islands remained uninhabited by Europeans until the 17th century when they were visited by explorers and pirates. In 1756, the French claimed the islands and established a colony.

British Rule

In 1814, following the Napoleonic Wars, Seychelles became a British colony. The British introduced plantation agriculture, including crops such as coconut, vanilla, and cinnamon, and brought in slaves from Africa and Madagascar to work on the plantations. Slavery was abolished in 1835, and Seychelles became a crown colony.


Seychelles gained independence from Britain in 1976 and became a republic within the Commonwealth. Since independence, the country has experienced political stability and economic development, with tourism becoming a major industry.



Seychelles has a population of approximately 98,000 people, according to the latest estimates. The population is diverse, with people of African, European, Indian, and Chinese descent living harmoniously together.

Ethnicity and Language

The majority of Seychellois are of mixed ethnicity, with Creole being the most widely spoken language. English and French are also official languages, reflecting the country’s colonial history.


Christianity is the predominant religion in Seychelles, with Roman Catholicism being the largest denomination. There are also small communities of Anglicans, Hindus, and Muslims.

Administrative Divisions and Population

Seychelles is divided into 26 administrative regions known as districts. Here are the first-level administrative divisions along with their populations:

  1. Anse aux Pins District – Population: 4,500
  2. Anse Boileau District – Population: 4,000
  3. Anse Etoile District – Population: 3,500
  4. Anse Royale District – Population: 4,200

10 Largest Cities by Population

  1. Victoria (Capital)
  2. Anse Boileau
  3. Beau Vallon
  4. Anse Royale
  5. Takamaka
  6. Anse Etoile
  7. Cascade
  8. Bel Ombre
  9. Grand Anse Mahe
  10. Glacis

Education Systems

Free Education

Education in Seychelles is free and compulsory for children aged 5 to 16. The country has a well-developed education system, with both public and private schools offering primary and secondary education. The University of Seychelles is the main institution for tertiary education.



Seychelles International Airport, located on the island of Mahé, is the main gateway to the country. It serves as a hub for domestic and international flights. Other airports in Seychelles include Praslin Island Airport and Denis Island Airport.


The Port of Victoria, located in the capital city of Victoria, is the main seaport in Seychelles. It handles both cargo and passenger traffic and plays a vital role in the country’s economy. Other major ports include the Port of Praslin and the Port of La Digue.

Country Facts

  • Population: 98,000
  • Capital: Victoria
  • Official Languages: Creole, English, French
  • Religion: Christianity (predominantly Roman Catholic)
  • Currency: Seychellois rupee (SCR)
  • ISO Country Code: SC
  • International Calling Code: +248
  • Top-Level Domain: .sc